Virtual Celebration of Excellence

The New York City Alliance Against Sexual Assault

The New York City Alliance Against Sexual Assault held our 11th Annual Celebration of Excellence virtually on October 22, 2020. Thank you to all who could join us for this inspiring event and especially, thank you to the winners for their extraordinary work!


The Annual Celebration of Excellence brings together the sexual assault community to honor and commemorate the winners of the Lydia Martinez Multidisciplinary Collaboration Awards. Recipients of the awards are involved in the coordinated efforts to respond to sexual violence in New York City. During this virtual event, we honored our colleagues who have done exemplary advocacy work on behalf of survivors of sexual assault.


Congratulations to the 2020 awardees!


Practicing Attorney: Jessica Morak, Staff Attorney at Sanctuary for Families
Preventionists: Eric McGriff, Preventionist at CVTC and K Richardson, Coordinator of Campus Engagement and Prevention at AVP
Rape Crisis Professional: Monica Pombo, SAFE Program Supervisor at NYP Weill-Cornell
SAFE: Jennifer Alves, SART Coordinator at Bellevue Hospital, Manhattan H&H
Volunteer Rape Crisis Advocate: Terry Smith, Volunteer Advocate at NYP Weill-Cornell
Emerging Leader: Anthony McGriff, Teacher at Exceed Middle School
Law Enforcement Professional: Chastity Caban, NYPD Police Officer at Manhattan SVD


The 11th Annual Celebration of Excellence was offered at no cost this year but donations are welcome.


Thank you to all who helped us celebrate these extraordinary professionals and their stories of serving survivors of sexual assault!